It's Official: 42 Countries Will Compete in Tel Aviv!

The EBU confirmed today, that 42 countries would be making their way to Tel Aviv next May for the 64th Eurovision Song Contest. Though many were hoping that 2019 would bring a new record number of participants (with rumors of Kazakhstan potentially joining the contest), 42 is still a beautiful number, it is after all, according to Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, “the answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything”.

18 countries will compete in each semi final, taking place on 14 and 16 of May, and the top ten of each semi will join the six countries that have already secured their spot in the final on 18 May: The Big Five: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and of course, host country, Israel.

Earlier it was sadly confirmed, that Bulgaria had decided to withdrew from the 2019 contest due to budgetary difficulties.

The 42 participating counties are:

Albania (RTSH)

Armenia (AMPTV)

Australia (SBS)*

Austria (ORF)

Azerbaijan (İctimai TV)

Belarus (BTRC)

Belgium (RTBF)

Croatia (HRT)

Cyprus (CYBC)

Czech Republic (ČT)

Denmark (DR)

Estonia (ERR)

Finland (YLE)

France (FT)

FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)

Germany (ARD/NDR)

Georgia (GPB)

Greece (ERT)

Hungary (MTVA)

Iceland (RÚV)

Ireland (RTÉ)

Israel (IPBC/KAN)

Italy (RAI)

Latvia (LTV)

Lithuania (LRT)

Malta (PBS)

Moldova (TRM)

Montenegro (RTCG)

The Netherlands (AVROTROS)

Norway (NRK)

Poland (TVP)

Portugal (RTP)

Romania (TVR)

Russia (RTR)

San Marino (SMRTV)

Serbia (RTS)

Slovenia (RTVSLO)

Spain (RTVE)

Sweden (SVT)

Switzerland (SRG/SSR)

Ukraine (UA:PBC)

United Kingdom (BBC)

* Australian broadcaster SBS is an Associate Member of the EBU.